Maryland has had four consitutions. At the time of the Revolutionary War, the first constitution was adopted by the Ninth Provincial Convention, meeting at Annapolis, in November 1776. Voters adopted the second constitution in June 1851. During the Civil War, the State's third constitution was adopted by the voters in October 1864. Voters adopted the fourth and last constitution under which Maryland government now functions in September 1867.

The Maryland Constitution presented here includes amendments proposed by the General Assembly and ratified by the voters through November 6, 2018.

For more information about Maryland constitutions and constitutional conventions, see Archives of Maryland Online at:

Constitution Day - Sept. 17

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 04, 2019 Maryland State Archives